Home | Team Info | Truck Specs | Race Schedule & Points | Sponsors | Gallery | Links | Contact

18 of SCORE’s toughest desert racers still in hunt
For 2005 Toyota True Grit and Milestone Awards

SCORE’s toughest desert racers preparing for
38th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000
Nov. 17-20, in Ensenada, Mexico.

LOS ANGELES, CA (October 23, 2005) -- After four of five of open desert races in the 2005 SCORE Desert Series, 18 of SCORE’s toughest racers are still in the race to earn 2005 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards. In addition, three of those racers could split this year’s $12,000 SCORE Toyota True Grit Award. The 38th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 will end the season Nov. 17-20 in Ensenada, Mexico.

Toyota is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 20th consecutive year. The Toyota Milestone awards go to those drivers who finish every required mile of every race in the five-race 2005 SCORE Desert Racing Series, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series.

The $12,000 SCORE Toyota True Grit bonus purse will be split among the point champions in the non-factory supported classes of: Class 1-2/1600, Class 5, Class 10 and SCORE Lite. A total of nine drivers in three of these four classes are still eligible in the chase for the 2005 SCORE Toyota True Grit bonus purse.

After four races over rugged desert terrain in the U.S. and Mexico, 18 racers in 10 classes are still in the hunt for 2005 SCORE Toyota Milestone awards.

“Toyota is proud to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers,” said Les Unger, national motorsports manager at Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. “For the past 19 years, we have had the privilege of presenting the SCORE Toyota True Grit and Milestone Awards to the toughest racers on the planet.”
SCORE Lite leads the way with five racers still eligible for SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards, followed by Class 1-2/1600 with three.

2005 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards
(Racers who have completed every required mile for the season after four rounds in the five-race 2005 SCORE Desert Series--*SCORE Toyota True Grit Classes)

SCORE Trophy-Truck
Josh Baldwin
Bob Shepard

Class 1
Mark McMillin

Class 1-2/1600*
Rob MacCachren
Caleb Gaddis
L.J. Kennedy

Class 5/1600
Marcos Nunez
Ernie Negrete

Class 7
Victor Herrera Jr.

Class 7S
John Holmes

Class 8
Todd Wyllie

Class 9
Eric Fisher

Class 10*
Travis Brookshire

James Golden
Tom Watson
Jake Batulis
Mike Belk
Arturo Honold

For information contact:
SCORE International at its Los Angeles headquarters
(818) 225-8402 or visit
the official 2005 SCORE Desert Series website at:

For Sponsorship Information, contact:
  Mark Handley (760) 750-1905

Next Race:
June 5-7 2009: Baja 500

2009 News:
10/25: Score: We're back & Racing the Baja 500

News Archives:
10/25: BitD: HT400 Deciding Race of Season
10/24: SCORE: 18 True Grit Drivers Remain
10/20: SCORE: 300 Baja 1000 Entries Expected
10/17: Solar: Help-U-Sell Sponsorship
10/10: SCORE: Legendary Baja 1000
10/06: SCORE: Baja 1000 Draw
09/30: Solar: Bay Club Sponsorship
09/23: SCORE: 2006 Schedule Announced
09/22: SCORE: Baja 500 Prime Time Special
09/19: SCORE: NBC & OLN TV Schedule
09/16: Solar: Primm 300 Race Recap
09/16: Solar: Nevada Desert Takes Its Toll
09/15: SCORE: Point Leaders after Primm
09/13: Solar: Prime Synthetics Sponsorship
09/12: SCORE: Collins Captures Overall
09/12: SCORE: Primm 300 Notes & Quotes
09/07: BitD: Vegas To Reno Letter & Updates
08/24: Solar: Lincoln Electric Sponsorship
05/27: SCORE: Final Races to Appear on TV
03/25: SOLAR: Another Magazine Appearance

News Archives



For Finance Information, contact:

Mark Handley (760) 613-3122

For Sponsorship Information, contact:
Mark Handley (760) 613-3122

Home | Team Info | Truck Specs | Race Schedule & Points
Sponsors | Gallery | Links | Contact
© 2003-05 DesertRacing.com - All Rights Reserved